Skip to main navigation.

Who We Are

Broad River Electric Cooperative is one of 20 not-for-profit, member-owned electric co-ops in South Carolina. From our headquarters in Gaffney, SC, we serve Cherokee, Spartanburg, Union, and Newberry counties in South Carolina and portions of Cleveland, Polk, and Rutherford counties in North Carolina.

Founded in 1940 to meet the needs of a small number of rural residents who needed electric service, we now have more than 20,000 business and residential Member-Owners and 2,600 miles of power line.

We are committed to providing our members with safe, reliable, and reasonably-priced electric and other energy-related services while improving the communities we serve. 

The cooperative’s vision is to be our members’ most trusted resource for energy-related matters. We will be guided by our core values of service, excellence, and safety toward goals of member engagement, organizational excellence, and financial security.

We are also guided by the Seven Cooperative Principles and the four Touchstone Energy values: accountability, integrity, innovation, and commitment to the community. 

Questions? Call or Email.

Board of Trustees

Members of the Board of Trustees are elected by the membership at the cooperative's Annual Meeting on the first Saturday in May. Each serves three-year terms.

Cherokee County (District 1)
Photo of DeWitt McCraw Photo of Mark Patterson Photo of Bill Peeler
E. Dewitt McCraw Mark Patterson William J. Peeler
Spartanburg County (District 2)
Photo of Kevin Moss Photo of Bobby Foster Photo of Wayne West
Kevin Moss Bobby Foster R. Wayne West
Union County (District 3)
Photo of Norris Fowler Photo of DeCole Gallman Photo of Anita Whitney
Norris R. Fowler, Chairman DeCole GallmanSecretary

Anita Whitney,
Vice Chairman







Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo